Be part of the democratic
one-member-one-vote network.

Annual membership fees are €25 for

individuals and €100 for organisations.


The first conference – in Brussels on 28 & 29 November 2019 – was free for members.


For the first start-up period of EFN’s official life, membership paid at any time from the official registration date of the association (February 2019) was originally agreed to last until 31 December 2020 - but with the crisis of the Coronavirus this period will be extended and a new arrangement will be announced soon.


For this first start-up period, members who want to help the EFN to accumulate working capital to use in future work are invited to join and if possible to contribute a larger, one-off amount as an initial membership fee (of whatever they can afford) and be quoted in all communications as EFN 'Founding Members'.


As an indication, the group who set up the association and those members who have already made a one-off contribution to EFN's work and funds as Founding Members have already contributed enough for a basic working fund - and the Board has been working to raise other money from cultural funders, including contributions already received from British Council Wales, British Council Scotland and Creative Scotland.

Membership is open to those actively working in the folk/traditional scene, organisations and individuals.


Members commit to supporting the vision and aims of the network. By joining they contribute to the collective impact and voice of the network and can contribute to the work of the network.


The main benefits of membership are opportunities to meet, share and collaborate with others, increasing members’ own contacts and the mobility of artists and organisers in Europe.


The organisation is democratic with each member having a vote. The members determine the work and direction of the network


Members join by downloading and submitting a membership application form and paying an annual membership fee to the network.  The regular fee structure reflects commitment by organisations and individuals. The fees are: €25 for individuals and €100 for organisations.  Each membership will have one vote. 


For the first accounting period these fees and membership will last from the date of joining until 31 December 2020. 


Before 31 December 2020 EFN will agree long-term levels of annual membership fees and will also define whether membership begins on the joining date and runs for 12 months or whether it is for a set annual period, irrespective of the joining date.


VI.BE (fomerly Poppunt) (Belgium) Founding Member

English Folk Dance & Song Society (England) Founding Member

Trac Cymru (Wales) Founding Member

Melanie Scheys (Belgium) Founding Member

Trad Music Forum (Traditional Arts and Culture,Scotland) Founding Member

Folk Alliance International (USA, Canada & International) Founding Member

Nod Knowles (England) Founding Member

Tom Sherlock (Ireland) Founding Member

Geoff Cripps (Wales) Founding Member

Burnsong (Scotland) Founding Member

Mike Kamp (Germany) Founding Member

Chris Foster (Iceland) Founding Member

Feisean nan Gaidheal (Scotland) Founding Member

Chris Pentney/Sharper Than (England) Founding Member

Mapamundi Musica (Spain) Founding Member

WOMEX - Piranha Arts (Germany/International) Founding Member

alba KULTUR (Germany) Founding Member

Feis Rois (Scotland) Founding Member

Fragan (Belgium) Founding Member

Tempi (Denmark) Founding Member

Frank Reglin (Germany) Founding Member

Medigrecian (Greece) Founding Member

Muziekmozaiek (Belgium) Founding Member

English Folk Expo - EFEx (England) Founding Member

Hungarian Heritage House (Hungary) Founding Member

Musik over Praesto Fjord (Denmark) Founding Member

Francis Xavier Edwards (Ireland)  Founding Member

Finisterre (Italy)  Founding Member

FolkOrg (Norway)  Founding Member

Muziekclub t'Ey (Belgium)

VZW Dranouter (Belgium)

Simon McKerrell (England)

Eric van Monckhoven (Italy)

Linkwadraat (Belgium)

Hangveto (Hungary)

Jo Freya (England)

Cigdem Aslan (England)

Jan Przadka (Poland)

Christian Pliefke (Germany)

Kenneth Day (Sweden)

Lauska (Latvia)

Creative Scotland (Scotland)

Associação Cultural Xarabanda (Madeira, Portugal)

Stoneyport (Scotland)

Henning Kuepper (Germany)

Jonathan Pearson/Islander (Ireland)

Anja Hovelmann (Germany)

Global Music Centre GMC (Finland)

Andrew Lambert (Ireland)

Halsway Manor (England)

The Celtic Art Gallery vzw (Belgium)

WOMUSK (Slovakia)

Ake Lundstrom (Sweden)

Jeroen Geerinck (Belgium)

Anna-Wendy Stevenson (Scotland)

Ward Dhoore (Belgium)

Ian A Anderson (England)

Hartwin Dhoore (Estonia)

Johanna Sauramaki (Finland)

Michele Manzotti (Italy)

Toernee Mondial (Belgium)

Andrew Cronshaw (England)

Nataliya Myazina/Russian World Music Awards (Russia)

Compagnie Macke-Bornauw (Belgium)

Mark Mulholland (France)

Folk Holidays Festival (Czech Republic)

Gudrun Walther (Germany)

RFoD - Riksforbundet for Folkmusik och Dans (Sweden)

Elena Leibbrand (Belgium)

Live Music Now Scotland (Scotland)

't Smiske vzw (Belgium)

Muziekpublique (Belgium)

Folk Roskilde Lirum Larum (Denmark)

ALT PRODUCTions (Hungary)

Fira Mediterranea de Manresa (Catalonia)

Trad Ireland/Traid Eireann  (Ireland)

Marieke Van Ransbeeck (Belgium)

Sveriges Spelmans Riksforbund (Sweden)

Francis de Souza (Netherlands)

World Music Association of Serbia (Serbia)

Birnam CD Ltd  (Scotland)

Eric Sahlstrom Institutet  (Sweden)

CEMPER (Belgium)

Svavar Knutur Kristinsson (Iceland)

Colin Gillen (Ireland)

PROFOLK (Germany)

Angharad Jenkins (Wales)

Lode Bucsan (Belgium)

Darshan Associazione Culturale (Italy)


  • facebook-square